Book Review: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins was a literary smash hit this past summer—I finally got around to reading it this week over spring break and can’t decide whether or not I’m surprised by the amount of success it got.

A thriller set in 2012-2013, The Girl on the Train weaves the perspectives of three women and their husbands in an intriguing knot of murder and domestic problems. Rachel, Anna, and Megan live three very different lives (unemployed alcoholic, new mother, and depressive with a dark past, respectively) though their situations begin to get more similar by the end.

original_the_girl_on_the_trainHawkins’ use of details and the complexity of the characters made this a solid read. I had read that this was a book that couldn’t be put down, but didn’t find this completely true for me until the mid-200’s (and with only 323 pages, that’s a bit late in the game). This was most likely a trade-off for the amount of detail Hawkins used in constructing the narrative and exploring her characters’ flaws: with so much interesting material crammed in, it’s hard to build up a fast pace.

Blakeley from Blake’s Little Library seemed to have similar feelings about this book: check out her review here. Maybe I don’t read enough thrillers, but I didn’t find the ending quite as predictable as she did; however, I did find the ending to be cliche, and some character motivations were unclear to me. Without giving too much away, the culprit gave the stereotypical “this is what happened and this is why I did it” speech, which felt unnecessary after we got to see the full event from the victim’s perspective. Additionally, Anna’s motivations in the last few scenes were intentionally unclear for suspense, but felt too muddy even in the sections told from her perspective. This was rare for Hawkins, who otherwise painted such vivid and realistic images of her characters.

Overall

The writing was very good, though lacked subtlety often (a pretty big contrast to my last great read, Celeste Ng’s Everything I Never Told You, which you can read my review of here). On the one hand, the slower pace and cliched ending structure are the source of my surprise that this book took off like it did. On the other, the same can be said of immensely popular generic thrillers’ like James Pattersons’ (though Hawkins’ quality of writing is significantly better).

Would recommend to readers of popular contemporary fiction, a fun read for vacation.

Rating: 3.5 / 5

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

  1. Pumble

    Great review! I totally agree about the ending being cliche.

    I was hoping to do a book review on my blog in the future, any tips you’d be willing to share? I’ll be following!

    Rachel xx

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Rachel!
      One thing that helps me is to quickly read other people’s review of the same books, just in case they mention something that you forgot you have feelings on as well! If you disagree with any of them, you can always quote/link back to their post and that can get some discussion going as well (plus good blogging practice to help boost others’ content as well as your own, it makes the blog less me-me-me). Hope that helps and I look forward to your reviews 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

